Don’t Hold Your Breath | Missoni at Target

DON’T HOLD YOUR BREATH
Missoni at Target

Copyright © 2011 SYDNEY SCHUSTER – All Rights Reserved

I admit, I’m a little spoiled. I love fashion, and I used to live in New York, so I’ve had truckloads of really great clothes, none of which I ever paid full retail for.

The place where I live now is a fashion black hole. For a bike ride, it’s awesome. For clothes? Not so much. If you’re a fan of polyester and the color brown, this is the place for you.

That’s why the big news here in Boondoggle was today’s arrival of Missoni at Target. In New York (and probably LA, San Francisco, and Chicago) you can pretty much walk into any upscale retailer and buy Missoni. No big deal. Here? The last (and only) place I was ever able to get Missoni was the lone Syms store, which carried the real deal from Italy, made of luxury materials, and steeply discounted. Then Sy died and Marcy bought Filene’s, and Syms somehow turned into Filene’s, which is the dog’s dinner now, not like the glory days when they had basements that were scenes of shopper violence and mayhem. Gad, I miss them.

Anyway, I’d been reading about the Missoni invasion of Target for awhile. It was hard to miss, seeing as how the ads were always in your face. And cheap? Are you kidding? We are talking Target.

Naturally, I assumed Missoni’s Target “collection” would be sweatshop junk made in the Third World, and it kind of is, but at least it isn’t brown, and there was a dress and a cocktail set on my radar.

So for this I got up at 6 a.m. The store opened at 8 a.m. I arrived at 8:10, only because I missed my exit. The Missoni collection was picked clean by 9. By which I mean, if you weren’t on the line at the door when they unlocked it, you got squat.

Did I score anything? Of course. Was it what I went there for? Not exactly. I pulled a sleeveless shift from a rack of same that also included matching long cardigans. When I returned from the dressing room to get the cardigan, every Missoni rack was empty. We’re talking ten minutes. But before that bit of misfortune, I was honestly quite shocked at the quality of everything, considering the prices.

I didn’t get my cocktail set, either. The Missoni housewares shelf was bare except for some plastic plates I didn’t like (and neither did anyone else, for some reason). I did get the last pair of bath towels, the very last duvet set, and the last man’s winter scarf.

I never had a chance to examine other stuff I knew they had only because I saw it in other people’s carts. Someone bought the crazy-colored retro bike and rode it around the store. It was better than I expected from the photos. Way better.

When I got home I headed straight for Target.com to do damage control. Everyone else had the same idea, apparently. The site is logjammed. So much for my stupid cardigan.

The Missoni event at Target is advertised for September 13 through October 22. There’s a laugh. What’s going to be the event after the first hour? Fistfights over returns? Filene’s basement lives!

Supposedly this is a 400-piece collection. My ass. They didn’t have no 400 pieces at my Target, much less 400 different types of pieces. But what they did have was epic, for the half hour it lasted. What’re ya gonna do? People don’t always want to wear brown. Get a clue, Boondoggle.

Text & Photos Copyright © 2011 SYDNEY SCHUSTER – All Rights Reserved
Sydney Schuster and Dead Spot neither approved nor endorse any third-party advertising that may appear below, nor do we derive any income from it. Feel free to ignore it.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Hold Your Breath | Missoni at Target

  1. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • Thanks for your comment, Brigida. Sorry about the mysterious disappearance of your first comment, but very glad to hear you’re enjoying my blog. Honestly, I’m new at this, too. After looking at lots of other people’s blogs, I decided what made the most sense was: 1) pick a theme and try to stick to it; 2) keep the layout simple and the text big; 3) and speak with your true, unique voice. Best of luck with your blog, and be sure to send the link so I can check it out!

Leave a Reply

